Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2023 today. The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 09th  January, 2024 (Tuesday) at 1100 hours. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches and entities:

(i)         Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2023

S. No.Name of the sportsperson*Discipline
1.Chirag Chandrashekhar ShettyBadminton
2.Rankireddy Satwik Sai RajBadminton

*  The Award has been conferred to both sportspersons having similar achievements on account of Team performance.

(ii)        Arjuna Awards for outstanding performance in Sports and Games 2023

S. No.Name of the sportspersonDiscipline
 Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
 Ms Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
 Sreeshankar MAthletics
 Ms Parul ChaudharyAthletics
 Mohameed HussamuddinBoxing
 Ms R VaishaliChess
 Mohammed ShamiCricket
 Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
 Ms Divyakriti SinghEquestrian Dressage
 Ms Diksha DagarGolf
 Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
 Ms Pukhrambam Sushila ChanuHockey
 Pawan KumarKabaddi
 Ms Ritu NegiKabaddi
 Ms NasreenKho-Kho
 Ms PinkiLawn Bowls
 Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
 Ms Esha SinghShooting
 Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
 Ms Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
 Sunil KumarWrestling
 Ms AntimWrestling
 Ms Naorem Roshibina DeviWushu
 Ms Sheetal DeviPara Archery
 Illuri Ajay Kumar ReddyBlind Cricket
 Ms Prachi YadavPara Canoeing

(iii)       Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games 2023

  1. Regular Category:
S. No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
 Lalit KumarWrestling
 R. B. RameshChess
 Mahaveer Prasad SainiPara Athletics
 Shivendra SinghHockey
 Ganesh Prabhakar DevrukhkarMallakhamb
  1. Lifetime Category:
S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
 Jaskirat Singh GrewalGolf
 Bhaskaran EKabaddi
 Jayanta Kumar PushilalTable Tennis

(iv)       Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games 2023:

S. No.Name of the sportspersonDiscipline
 Ms Manjusha KanwarBadminton
 Vineet Kumar SharmaHockey
 Ms Kavitha SelvarajKabaddi

(v)        Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023: 

1.Guru Nanak Dev University, AmritsarOverall winner university
2.Lovely Professional University, Punjab1st runner up University
3.Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra2nd runner up University

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. ‘Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award’ is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over the period of the previous four years.

‘Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in Sports and Games’ is given for good performance over a period of the previous four years and for showing qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline. ‘Dronacharya Award for outstanding coaches in Sports and Games’ is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work on a consistent basis and for enabling sportspersons to excel in International events.

‘Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime achievement in Sports and Games’ is given to honour sportspersons who have contributed to sports by their performance and who continue to contribute to promotion of sports event after their retirement. The overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

The applications were invited online and sportspersons/coaches/entities were permitted to self-apply through a dedicated Online Portal. A large number of applications/nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice A. M. Khanwilkar, Retd. Judge, Supreme Court of India and consisting members from eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administrators.

Previous articleEducational Leadership Transition At Auckland House School For Boys
Next articleडॉo कमल केo प्यासा की कविताएँ: भावनाओं का सफर


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here