AHGS Students Exhibit Excellent Sportsman Spirit — 2016


Share post:

AuckyGirlsSports.12.9 (21)

Durrant House bags the Sports Shield; Proficiency Cup won by French House & Marching Cup was awarded to Matthew House

Ritanjali Hastir, Associate Editor, 12th September, 2016, Shimla  

AuckyGirlsSports.12.9 (1)The Senior Section Sports Day was held at Auckland House School as the day began with the warm welcome of the chief guest Prashant Sirkek, Assistant Commissioner, Municipal Corporation, Shimla, by Director-Principal Sunita John and principal Boys School Michael A John. Sirkek is also an alumni of the School.

Students took over the play ground with their March Past wherein different Houses marched in order of their last year’s performance and won hearts of all. The March Past was followed by a colourful, energetic P.T. Display. Thereafter, the students performed various physical fitness exercises such as Yoga, Aerobics, Gymnastics and Karate respectively.

AuckyGirlsSports.12.9 (22)Amidst loud cheers and jubilations, the students were elated as announcements were made — Durrant House bagged the Sports Shield, the Proficiency Cup was won by French House whereas the Marching Cup was won by Matthew House.

This year a new trophy was instituted by Violet Andrews, Head Girl of 1950 batch for Progress in Sports. The inaugural recipient of this trophy was Durrant House. Heena Thakur of French House was adjudged the best athlete and awarded a trophy for being the Best Athlete and the Victor Lundrom for Excellence in Sports.

The chief guest was unequivocal in his praise for the high standard of sportsmanship exhibited by the girls. All in all, the Senior Section Sports Day was a great success.

Winners of Different Competitions

Soft Ball Group A – Manisha Sharma first, Arushi Sharma second and Vidhi Tanta third.

Group B – Samriti Kaith first, Heena Thakur second and Astha Kanwar Third.

High Jump Group A – Kritika Kumari first, Malika Kanwar second and Arzoo Shyam Third.

Group B – Heena Thakur first, Rhythm second and third position was shared by Suricha and Aditi.

Discuss Throw Group A – Arzoo first, Oshin Cheema second and Manisha Sharma third.

Group B – Heena Thakur first, Tenzin second and Nupir Negi third.

100 mtrs Group A – Arzoo first, Shephali second and Kritika third.

Group B – Pranjal first, Samriti second and Heena third.

Obstacle Race Group A – Oshin first, Shephali second and Swastika third.

Group B – Heena first, Aditi second and Shreya third.

Baton Relay Group A – Shephali first, Arzoo second and Manisha third.

Group B – Gurdeep first, Navya second and Samriti third.

Skipping Relay Group A – Arzoo first, Shambhvi second and Simen third.

Group B – Angel first, Navya second and Heena third.

Ball Relay Group A – Anchal first, Shephali second and Simran third.

Group B – Gurdeep first, Navya second and Samriti third.

Karate – Shimona first, Ridam second and Asmite Singh third.

Best Gymnastic Group A – Kritika and Group B Suprina.

Pipe Band – Parnaaz Kaur

YouTube player
YouTube player
YouTube player


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Himachal Samachar 20 07 2024

https://youtu.be/VeXg9JuVN3I?si=2fLj8XQEKOlll1Nw Daily News Bulletin

Ved Vihar Public School Educational Society donates generously towards Mukhya Mantri Sukh Aashray Kosh

President of Ved Vihar Public School Educational Society, KS Shrikot, presented a cheque of Rs. 1, 54, 08,657...

Govt. to enhance Baba Balaknath Temple infrastructure with New Ropeway Project: CM

Chief Minister Thakur Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu said that the State Government have decided to enhance and upgrade the...

Result of NEET(UG)-2024 published by NTA

The National Testing Agency has been conducting the NEET (UG) since 2019 with the approval of the Ministry...