PM of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal triggered the last blast of HRT in Arun-3 HEP


Share post:

Shimla/Delhi: Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ triggered the last blast to mark the completion of heading excavation 11.8 km long Head Race Tunnel of 900 MW Arun- 3 Hydro Electric Project in Sankhuwasabha District of Nepal in presence of Minister of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation of Nepal Shakti Bahadur Basnet, Health Minister Province 1 of Nepal Rajender Karki, Indian Ambassador, Naveen Srivastava, Chairman and Managing Director, SJVN, Sushil Sharma, CEO, Investment Board of Nepal Sushil Bhatta, CEO, SAPDC, Arun Dhiman, ED, SJVN, Rakesh Sehgal and other dignitaries of Govt of Nepal, local authorities graced the occasion.  

Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ said that this breakthrough brings us closer to our goal of providing clean, renewable energy and contributing to the sustainable development of the region. He expressed his appreciation for the ongoing efforts and reaffirmed the government’s commitment to facilitate the timely completion of Arun -3 HEP.

Indian Ambassador Naveen Srivastava in his address said that Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi and his Nepali counterpart Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ had agreed the long-term power trade agreement for the import of electricity from Nepal last year, for which completion of export oriented 900 MW Arun 3 HEP will be a major milestone.

Sushil Sharma apprised the Prime Minister of Nepal that this marks a significant milestone in the construction of the 900 MW Arun-3 Hydro Electric Project with the successful breakthrough of the Head Race Tunnel. This achievement marks a crucial step forward in the progress of Arun-3 HEP in Nepal.

Sushil Sharma briefed about the progress of under construction 900 MW Arun 3 Hydro Electric Project and 217 km long associated Transmission Line. Further the CMD informed that more than 74% of the project works have already been completed and the remaining works are going on in full swing.

“The successful completion of the Head Race Tunnel is a monumental achievement in our journey to harness the hydropower potential of the Arun River,” said Sushil Sharma. Sharma further added that Arun- 3 Hydro Electric Project will start generation by next year and has the potential to generate 3924 million units of electricity every year.

CMD further said “We are grateful for the unwavering support from the Government of Nepal, local authorities, and the community”. Sharma added, “This project symbolizes the strong partnership between India and Nepal in the energy sector and our collective efforts to achieve energy security and environmental sustainability.” CMD, SJVN Sushil Sharma during his visit to Nepal also met with Chief Secretary of Nepal Dr. Baikuntha Aryal and Home Secretary of Nepal Eaknarayan Aryal and discussed various issues related to development of HEP’s in Arun valley in Nepal.

SJVN’s fully owned subsidiary SJVN Arun-3 Power Development Company Pvt. Ltd. (SAPDC) is a significant collaboration between SJVN and the Government of Nepal, aims to enhance regional energy security and boost economic development through sustainable hydropower generation in Arun River Basin.  Currently SJVN is executing 2200 MW of three Hydroelectric Projects on Arun River basin in Nepal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

खलग विद्यालय में भरे जाएंगे संगीत एवं रसायन विज्ञान के खाली पद – विक्रमादित्य सिंह

लोक निर्माण एवं शहरी विकास मंत्री विक्रमादित्य सिंह ने आज शिमला ग्रामीण विधानसभा क्षेत्र के राजकीय वरिष्ठ माध्यमिक...

प्रदेश सरकार बेहतर सड़क सुरक्षा सुनिश्चित करने के लिए उठा रही पुख्ता कदम: मुकेश अग्निहोत्री

उपमुख्यमंत्री मुकेश अग्निहोत्री ने कहा कि प्रदेश सरकार द्वारा बेहतरीन तरीके से सड़क सुरक्षा के पुख्ता कदम उठाये...

खिलाड़ियों को अच्छी सुविधाएं मुहैया करवाना प्रदेश सरकार की प्राथमिकता – रोहित ठाकुर

  शिक्षा मंत्री ने कड़ीवन में आयोजित वॉलीबॉल टूर्नामेंट के उद्घाटन समारोह में बतौर मुख्यातिथि की शिरकत शिक्षा मंत्री...

New decisions taken in Cabinet meeting

The State Cabinet in its meeting held here today under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Thakur Sukhvinder Singh...